We came back from Chicago, tired and footsore but happy, and my first move was of course to check on the plants. The Red Warty Thing seedling sitting on the back porch was starting to wilt, and it’s already too big for its pot. I was hoping to wait for the grass to die, but that thing needs planting soon, so I’m going to have to dig out some space and plant it tomorrow or the next day.

The other plants were doing well, including the flowers I put out in pots on the back deck–Mexican sunflowers, cosmos, and blue sage salvia. And the sunflowers I pushed into the pots of the vegetables that didn’t grow (peppers mostly) almost all sprouted and were stretched toward the sun. I was also planning on planting them out where the grass is (I was going for a three-sisters bed with sunflowers substituted for corn), so I think this week is simply going to have to involve a lot of digging out half-dead grass, as long as the weather cooperates. I was planning on setting myself some weeding tasks–I was thinking that giving myself just one bed at a time to work on might help me be more diligent about keeping up with it–but this is going to have to take precedence. Here’s hoping for clear skies.

