The potatoes are planted. I dug out the leeks left over from last year first, while Eric applied a patch on the garage roof with tar and paper and curses when the wind picked up and he realized he needed to weigh the paper down. I saved a few of the leeks for cooking but put most of them in the compost pile. I left a few for seed. I’m not going to grow them this year, since I just didn’t use them last year and I’m going light on the growing, but I might plant them again next year–or they might be good for trading.

The carrots and onions have not come up at all. Most of my assorted greens have, except for the lettuce and spinach. No sign of the parsley, but that’s not surprising. No sign of the kale or the beets. I may try replanting, now that it’s a bit warmer and we’re anticipating more rain…or I may not. I must get some carrots growing, but I may decide the rest are too much work. I decided not to do peas this year–cooking them doesn’t sound good and eating them raw sounds like too much work, especially since my trellis is broken.

Eric told me I should just plan on growing less this year, and that’s what I’m doing. Luckily all my tomato plants and a few of my peppers plants are doing nicely in the window…and that future flat of vegetables will go a long way toward hiding my seed-starting inadequacies. I do have a couple of dirt-filled cartons ready for starting basil and maybe some parsley. In a couple of weeks I’ll start some cotton, because I think it’s neat, and maybe some flowers if I can be bothered, and everything else will go directly into the ground. I’m very glad I started a bunch of perennial herbs last year because once you take those off last year’s planting list (which is still taped up to my wall and is what I’m using for this year) there isn’t much that really needs starting early–which suits me perfectly.

On the less-lazy side, we went to the farmer’s market today for the first time this spring. We went for onions because Eric was making a meatloaf for dinner. We encountered some friends who told us one of the vendors had home-grown spinach and the honey lady made a killer honey-mustard that would make fantastic dressing if she hadn’t run out of it, and went home with winter spinach and strawberries (dunno if they were local, didn’t ask; they were delicious and firm and only two had a bad spot anywhere) to combine with pecans and Craisins to make a beautiful salad. A few early plant vendors were there, and I’m going to go back soon for strawberry plants, since my strawberry bed has a few bald spots. I foresee us spending a lot of money at the farmer’s market this year. My new lazy-gardening plans will still supply us with the mainstays of summer–parsley and tomatoes and dill and peppers and carrots, with luck, strawberries and raspberries–but there will be holes to fill.

