It was freakishly warm yesterday, so after Eric and I took a walk (and I discovered that I don’t walk as quickly as he does anymore–or he’s gotten out of the habit of slowing down for me, either one) I went into the gardens to poke around. The scallions made it through the winter, and I’m going to leave a couple for seed. The leeks did, too, but I’m not sure I want to worry about them–I didn’t use them much last year and I don’t expect to be doing a lot of cooking experimentation in the next year or so, though I could be wrong. On the other hand, it won’t take that much space, and if nothing else, they’d probably be good for trading.

I raked up old leaves and dead hostas and pulled out kale. The anise hyssop stood, brown but upright, with its seed pods entirely empty but still smelling faintly of mint. The chives are peeking out of the ground. So are some daylilies and daffodils and tulips. It’s early, but spring is coming.

I was pleased with my inspection until I arrived in my vegetable garden and scoped out the late rabbit fence. It used to be stretched across the lattice that separated my garden from the neighbors’ yard. They recently rototilled back there and knocked down the lattice. Apparently they also carefully moved the rabbit fence, rotating it on one side so that it double-lined the remaining fence between us. They also–and I don’t understand this–gathered up all the dead corn stalks I left in the corn patch and put them in a neat pile. Then they rototilled across the corn patch, destroying the rabbit warren. This was good. They threw the old posts into the old corn patch afterward. This was pretty inconsiderate, I thought, but I wasn’t too fussed about it.

They also mangled the half of the Asian pear tree that was closest to their yard. This, this made me angry. The Asian pear is several feet from the fence, well inside my property. I didn’t ask them to till up my garden, and if their aim was the rabbit warren they could have destroyed it without destroying my tree as well. It’s probably not actually destroyed, but it’s hurt, and it was completely unnecessary for that to happen. I was willing to take the good and bad they left until I saw that, but now that I have…those posts are totally getting thrown back on their side of the property line.

