Gardening appears to be alive and well in Toledo. The Toledo Botanical Gardens Seed Swap was packed–so much so that I was detained at the door a few minutes by an attendant because there were too many people already inside. I can certainly imagine vegetable gardening being even more popular this year than last year, though I did keep hearing people saying “I want to get to the flower table, but there’s no room.”

I picked up what I wanted–two kinds of onions, more carrots (including “Olds’ Science Fiction Mix–It’s out of this world!” just because of the name; it includes Atomic Red, Cosmic Purple, Lunar White, and Solar Yellow), some parsley root and parsnips, and a couple of herbs, skullcap and Russian tarragon. I also got some greens and some extra pickling cucumbers, and Green Macerata cauliflower because why not? And I got a red canna rhizome. I’m not sure where to put it, but since I also couldn’t get near the flower table and planted no bulbs last fall, I can probably use whatever decorative plants I can get, and a rhizome sounds easy–it comes with its own insurance, so it will rely less on me, and that’s a good thing.

(Though it’s not like I have no bulbs in the yard. The daffodils are peeking up from their accustomary crowded spot. I meant to dig them up last year and I’ll probably continue to mean to dig them up this year; but it’s nice to have them where I can see them from the car in the mornings.)

