I did indeed get cold and muddy Saturday, planting Georgian Crystal and Lorz Italian and Huge Unnamed Bulb Bought at the Farmstand Near the Old Mill garlic and bringing in broccoli and beets and turnips. Actually, mostly just turnip greens. I planted Shogain turnips, a free packet in a trade from last year, which were supposed to yield both roots and greens, but it’s apparently one of those too-good-to-be-true concepts. I got two roots you could call roots and a bunch of shriveled taproots, but plenty of nice greens. Luckily it’s soup season, and I’ve discovered that I really like tossing a handful of chopped greens into soup. Mmm, vitamins.

I think I’ll plant some more turnips next year, for trying mashed, since I never got a chance to this year. If I don’t love them that way, though, they probably won’t have a big place in my garden hereafter. We liked the beets better than the turnip roots, and I like chard and kale better than the turnip greens. (Eric doesn’t eat cooking greens unless they’re in soup or stirfry where he can’t taste them, and if he can’t taste them it doesn’t matter what kind they are.)

Today it’s cold and muddy again. I went to a dance class yesterday (the instructor demanded as we entered the room, “Are you ready to rhumba!?”) and when I came out, my car was covered in mushy snow. Out came the brush/scraper combo my mother-in-law gave me a couple of years ago; out came the grumbles. The snow was still there this morning, and I saw my chard plants were drooping. On the radio I heard someone comment on the unseasonal coldness, which made me feel slightly better about my still not-completely-cleaned-up garden, but not a lot. I’m no longer waiting for warmth now to complete the chore, just dry.

