I stopped in the garden today to see whether any more tomatoes had ripened yet. Four grape tomatoes had, so I seized them and three cucumbers that got large overnight and went inside, noting as I did that the remaining potimarron plant (or did I plant three?) is looking okay. Fruitless, but not drooping. Interesting.

“Have a tomato,” I invited Eric, holding out my handful. He popped one in his mouth and his face became beatific.

I put the cucumbers away and we busied ourselves with pickling, this time canning them instead of refrigerating them. Eric had sliced up the cucumbers and soaked them in brine that morning; he washed jars and I started peeling and crushing garlic. “It’s too bad we’re using up all your garlic,” Eric said as he apportioned spices to individual jars. Then, “Hmm. We’re out of coriander. Oh well…it’ll be half a teaspoon per jar instead of a teaspoon.”

I looked up from the garlic, my eyes unfocused, trying to decide whether I wanted to buy more coriander, considering there’s unripe coriander in the garden at this moment. Then I noticed the seed bags I’d left on the counter. “Here!” I said, thrusting one at Eric. “It’s the coriander. I was saving it for seed, but it’s the same stuff.” He took it and divided it among the jars, leaving enough for me to plant a little for the fall. Then he divided the homegrown dill among the jars, added some non-homegrown spices, and started the vinegar-salt mixture heating.

Meanwhile, I went out to the garden, hoping that I’d missed a tomato or two. I picked two grape tomatoes that were orangeish-red, and then I went around the corner and found my first ripe non-grape tomato of the season.

I don’t remember which type of tomato I planted where, but luckily I drew a diagram, and this one is a Tiger-Like.

I sliced it with the two grape tomatoes and grilled it in a sandwich made with my homemade rye bread. “I’ve got to learn to make cheese,” I said as we took a break for dinner. “Grilled sandwiches with my own rye, homegrown tomatoes, and my own cheese? Heaven.”

“I wonder how much a grain mill costs,” Eric said.

