Eric’s away at Origins, a gaming convention, so I have five glorious days of cooking whatever I want for dinner. (I would like to note here that A, I love my husband very much and missed him this morning before he’d even left because I had to go to work first, and B, it’s not like I couldn’t cook what I want for dinner ordinarily, but I often don’t because if we’re not cooking together, Eric generally won’t bother to cook for himself and will opt for chicken nuggets or Testosteroni instead, and I would like his arteries to survive longer than his current car.)

Today it was aloo mutter: fry ginger and pureed onion in oil, then mix with cumin, chili powder, salt, and my feeble imitation of garam masala, then add frozen cherry tomatoes and water and potatoes and garden-fresh peas and cook until potatoes are soft. Tomorrow I’m thinking lentils with kale and caramelized onions. And the cilantro is already doing its best to flower, so cilantro-walnut pesto and another cilantro planting are in my near future.

I’ve been looking forward to tonight’s meal since I planted the peas. I suspect it will become an early-summer ritual (and fall if I get my act together enough to plant fall peas–when do those go in?). Maybe next year I’ll be able to use my own potatoes and onions as well. I did root around at the bottom of my potatoes, but didn’t find anything except lots of fibrous roots, and I had nothing to dig with and the mosquitos had found me, so I gave it a miss.

I planted Golden Sweet peas and Pioneer peas, and picked some of each for this meal. The Golden Sweets were lovely snap peas, sweet and crisp; I tried a Pioneer pod early on and it was tough and unappealing. The Golden Sweet peas themselves are starchy and thick, while the Pioneer peas are sweet, even sweeter after a light cooking. I noted with interest that the Golden Sweet pods still taste fine, even though the peas need cooking to be good, and briefly considered saving the pods but decided it was too much work and swept them into the compost bowl with the others.

The remaining Golden Sweets that have swelled past snap pea stage will become seed or soup peas. The remaining Pioneers may go into more aloo mutter if there are enough, or will be popped for snacking if not. Other things are afoot in the garden–I have pictures but it’s late and the camera’s downstairs, so tomorrow I will show them in their miniature glory.

