It was windy and gray and humid and threatening major rain when I came home. But it was clearly meant to be a gardening day. See what came in the mail?

I took advantage of what I gather is a recurring offer of Spring Hill Nursery’s for $20 off an order, no minimum. I paid $8 shipping and handling to get a pomegranate kit. It took longer than I thought it would to come, but that’s okay; it came, it’s in great shape, it’s beautiful, and I even got a potential bonus: there appeared to be two trees growing together. One was definitely smaller and spindlier than the other. I separated them gently and planted the bigger one in the pot that came with the kit, and the other in a smaller pot, and if they both live I’ll have gotten a two-for-one free plant, which is just about as good as you can get.

The other mail item is also just about as good as you can get: free seeds. These are Johnny Jump-Ups in my alma mater’s school colors (University of Washington, purple and gold), and while they’re not my favorite flower and the plant care instructions have schmaltzy lines about planting wherever you want to grow your school spirit, free seeds are still pretty cool.

I went on the porch to pot the pomegranates. Eric arrived home and told me to get inside, it was going to rain, but I decided to do what I could before then. So I planted Scarlet Nantes carrots around the few onions in the onion patch, and planted rye where the quinoa and amaranth didn’t come up (is there something to that line about sunflower seeds suppressing all other growth? At this rate I’m going to empty my entire pantry into that patch), and planted three kinds of squash, thereby deciding that I will either hand-pollinate the potimarron squash or not worry about saving seeds. I noted something distressing about the broad beans–more on that tomorrow–and planted some Large Leaf Italian basil where I pulled out the flowering cabbages. And I moved one of the newly-sprouted Mammoth sunflowers to the sunflower bed to see if the rabbits will get them. (I know the vegetable garden is okay because a new zucchini came up and is still there.)

Then the wind picked up suddenly and I ran inside to beat the rain, making sure the pomegranate pots were out from under the porch roof as I did. It’s been twenty minutes and there’s no rain. If it doesn’t start soon I may resume where I left off and think about putting out peppers and fertilizing tomatoes, not to mention water.

