Happy Earth Day. I don’t know if it really qualifies for a “Happy,” but that’s what you say when annual events come around. (Do people say “Happy Dia De Los Muertos”? I mean, substituting the appropriate word for ‘happy.’ I never took a Romance language. I’m told it’s a joyous holiday so they very well may.)

I haven’t paid real attention to Earth Day in previous years. I can’t promise I will now, either. I don’t pay a lot of attention to media, and I tend to think that what happens between the annual events–the everyday actions that people take–matters more than a day’s worth of celebrity cameos and online games for kids.

But I do look forward to all the posts about it. I don’t feel versed enough in current scientific thinking and the plethora of opinion and advice to discuss the topic of climate change and our environmental impact; but I’m thinking and reading and learning–and hoping. I just got back from Katie’s post on the day, and wanted to repeat what I commented there, my favorite quote.

“Never doubt the ability of a small group of concerned citizens to change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.”

That’s Margaret Mead, and the quote appears in many slightly different versions, so I don’t know what her exact sentence was (I favor this one, obviously), but no matter how it’s phrased, my eyes always prickle when I think of it. Thinking about Earth Day, in the context that we need it because the state of the planet is getting so bad and nobody’s paying attention otherwise, is a bit despair-inducing; but hearing about people, all around the world, who know that change needs to happen and are doing it and spreading the word lifts my spirits. We can change the world.

However, my only world-changing activity today (unless something I do at work results in a medical breakthrough that saves millions of lives in a totally unforeseen way) is to work in my garden. The Golden Sweet peas and the scallions are coming up outdoors, the borage and thyme are coming up indoors, and it’s time to plant brassicas and start getting the rest of the vegetable garden ready for sunflowers and beans and tomatoes. Maybe that’s enough for one day.

