First: more sprouts are up! Two Chinese cabbage, plus two Romanesco broccoli. I’d almost given up hope on the latter. Now that I think about it, I should have expected them to act more like cauliflower than broccoli, since everyone says they act more like cauliflower and that’s what I originally thought they were. Not that I know what cauliflower act like, mind you. Maybe they, like me, were cheered by the prospect of an entire week forecast to get above freezing, at least for the high. No sign of peppers or lavender yet, but I’m hopeful.

Second: this really belongs in high summer. But I found the recipe, and I had to try it. I didn’t feel like cooking dinner tonight, so I made dessert instead: zucchini brownies. They’re good. I’m going to come back to this recipe in a few months when the squash are coming in with no hope of respite. Today, they involved taking a bit of last summer out of the freezer.

Zucchini Brownies

1 c flour

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking powder

3/8 c cocoa powder

1 c sugar

1 c zucchini, shredded, frozen, then thawed and pureed

1/4 c oil

1 tsp vanilla

Mix wet ingredients (including zucchini and the water in the bag it was frozen in) together. Mix in dry ingredients. Pour into a greased or parchment-paper-lined 8×8 pan and bake in a 350° oven for approximately 45 minutes. (I based this recipe on a recipe that suggested 25 minutes, but that was way off and I had already cut into the brownies and cooled the oven before I noticed. I’ll keep better track of the time next time.) Cool on a wire rack.

Now to see if Eric will eat them.

