Yesterday, while helping Eric shovel snow (he had his mom’s snowblower, I had the shovel and the broom, so I started and assisted but he did the bulk of the work), I went into the herb garden. It was, of course, all white. I sketched out some beds and paths in the snow; I still haven’t figured out exactly how everything’s going to be laid out, and I’m feeling like I won’t until I get in there and start digging. But I think I’ll have room for everything I want to put there. Maybe. Did I mention I have four kinds of basil and eight kinds of lettuce?

Importantly, I noticed a low slushy spot where the rainpipe¬†comes down from the roof. This may or may not be the source of the occasional wet basement floor we get (much better than before Eric cleaned the gutters, though). I would never have noticed the spot if not for the slush. But now I’ve noticed. And I thought: rain garden! I had planned to put non-food plants near the house anyway, for fear of lead in the ground, and didn’t I pick up a brochure on rain gardens at the TBG? I have coneflower and butterfly weed seeds, what else do I need? Because I need another project, you know.

