All right…this is it. Unless someone stops me or I change my mind at the last minute (perhaps it’s time to stop reading other garden blogs temporarily?), here’s my list of what seeds I’m buying this year:

Pinetree Garden Seeds

  • Chantenay Red Core carrot
  • Bloomsdale Long Standing spinach
  • Red shiso
  • Lavender (vera)
  • Walla Walla onion (incidentally, am I being hypocritical for ordering these? I saw Walla Walla onions in the store yesterday and was going to buy some until Eric pointed out they were from Peru. Also from a company called Bland Farms, but it was the Peru thing that did it for me, not so much the food miles as because they weren’t the Washington Walla Walla onions that I grew up with. But if I grow these, they’ll be Ohio Walla Walla onions, which isn’t right either.)
  • Harris Model parsnip
  • Narrow-leaf echinacea
  • Indigo
  • Elecampane
  • Nigella sativa (black cumin)
  • Golden Sweet pea
  • Trionfo Violetto bean
  • Incredible corn
  • French Fingerling potato
  • All Blue potato

Seeds of Change

  • Giant Musselburgh Sherwood leek [ed.: Either they used to carry it and don’t anymore, or I saw this at some other site and got them mixed up]
  • Deep Orange safflower
  • Balloon flower
  • Mitla Black tepary bean

Southern Exposure Seed Exchange or eBay

  • Nankeen Brown cotton
  • Erlene’s Green cotton

(It’s a fiber-arts thing…the safflower, tepary bean, elecampane, and indigo are for dyeing, though they probably won’t dye cotton, assuming I get any. However, cotton flowers are supposed to be very pretty, even if I end up with no cotton harvest.)

Andersons

  • Christmas grape tomato (or another grape tomato; Eric’s not picky)
  • Rosemary (plant, not seed)

Seed Savers (these are already ordered and arrived, but they are part of this year’s purchases):

  • Hidatsa Shield Figure bean
  • Dragon carrot
  • Buran pepper
  • Potimarron squash

I calculate this as coming to $57.73, not including tax or shipping. Not bad, I think, for a year (assuming I don’t impulse-buy too many things over the course of the spring). I’ll be buying more dirt this spring for the new garden, but I should recoup that money easily in produce. This is not the outrageously expensive hobby I was afraid of when I first started thinking about how very much I want to try growing. It helps to have a small yard and a two-person family, I think.

As for everything I’m planting, and when, that will have to be its own post. According to the schedule I drew up (yes, I’m that detail-oriented, but also yes, it’s that slow at work this week), I don’t have anything to do until February 15 but order these seeds, buy soil and a grow light, and winter-sow a few containers. But that’s only six weeks away.

