Merry Christmas! I spent mine in the land of evergreen, where rosemary bushes live through the winter and it snowed on Christmas for only the third time in sixty years. Mom gave me some scallion seeds from her garden. I’ve promised her some basil and cilantro seeds from mine. My plants survived my time away and the Christmas tree smells better than ever (we’re taking it down after the New Year’s party).

When we came home we exchanged presents with Eric’s family. His mother is very much into the big-Christmas idea and as a result we got more presents than we gave (though Edith loved her gardening hat and the atomic jewelry was very well received). I got Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver, as I’d requested (“It’s so easy when you have a list,” Edith said), plus a rolling pin and some other nice things. And: I got a greenhouse. That is, it’s a metal rack with a plastic housing, on wheels, and now I don’t have to worry so much about running out of seedling space. I have a greenhouse! And in only a couple of short months it’s going to be overrun! What a great Christmas.

