(It be International Talk Like a Pirate Day, mateys! But it also be no wish of a true pirate to force an unfamiliar tongue too long on herself or her readers, so that’s the end of that, at least until the husband comes home.) 

I went to Andersons yesterday for shrubs. With the vegetables cleared out of the driveway bed, the island with the fruit trees, and the side of the garage, I have places for plants and no plants to put there. Well, that’s not true; I could divide some of the plants I have. I have no plants I want to put there.

So I went to the garden center and poked around. They still have herbs out, and I considered buying something to put in a pot for the winter, but then I remembered that the plants I have already crowd my one good sunny window and forbore. (Besides, I might be able to get a cutting from my oregano plant, once the spider I saw on it last moves away.) I bought a small pine shrub–I miss evergreens–and a fern and a couple of shade plants, including wintergreen, which I bought two of because, well, it’s wintergreen.

Steering my cart toward the main part of the store, well pleased with my selections and the moderate amount of money I was spending, I noticed a stand of small bushy trees. One type, with beautiful variegated leaves, was labelled “Calamondin Orange,” and the other, “Meyer Lemon.”

It so happens that I have coveted a Meyer Lemon tree ever since I heard about them. I was temporarily interested in the orange, since the leaves are prettier, but the tag said the fruits are sour and only used for preserves, and if I’m to have an orange in the house I want it to be an orange I can eat fresh. So the Meyer lemon came home with me.

That plus a bigger pot to keep it in reduced the reasonableness of my purchases. But between those plants and the bulbs I’ve bought (irises and scilla and chionodoxa, which I’ve never heard of but looked pretty on the box) I’d say I now have enough plants to satisfy my urge for fall planting and take a step towards being more than a vegetable gardener.

