Hiding cucumberStraight Eight cucumber

I harvested my first cucumber today. I was out in the garden, taking my monthly garden picture (I’ll have to put it up–the difference between today and three weeks ago is ridiculous), and poking around to see if all those cucurbit flowers had yielded anything. I had spied some tiny baby cucumbers yesterday and resolved to keep an eye on them, and was looking to see if there were more babies. Lo and behold, I had two fully grown and one three-quarter-grown cucumbers, hiding from me! I only picked one, since the other ripe one looked like it could use another day’s growth (and possibly the water I plan to administer today). I don’t know what we’re doing for dinner, and I have no lettuce so there will be no salad. But whatever we have will be accompanied by fresh sliced cucumber.

