I made homemade pesto tonight with basil from my garden. Fresh pesto = wow. I have some in a jar from Trader Joe’s sometimes and it’s perfectly pleasant, but this stuff is a serious upgrade. (Oh dear, I’m channeling Mimi Smartypants.) I could use less parmesan next time, though. And I’ve still got to try cilantro-walnut, once I work up the determination to sort the leaves from the flowers on my out-of-control cilantro plant.

For Green Thumb Sunday, here’s the most recent flower I’ve grown:

Quilt flower

I don’t know what you’d name it; I’ve been calling it the H flower (I couldn’t tell you why).

Okay, so that doesn’t technically fall within the guidelines of Green Thumb Sunday, though since I’m not participating officially anyway, I’m not sure it matters. (Like the Three-Day novel I unofficially wrote a couple of years ago. I did participate officially a couple of years before that.) Try my back porch, then:

Back porch, infested with plants

My back porch is infested with pots. On the porch itself are my bay tree (growing much faster than I thought it would; two crowns of new leaves in the past week) and the salad bowl, plus some Micro-Toms and pumpkin seed starts. On the steps, there are cosmos in the tallest terra cotta pot, leftover wedding rocks in the smallest, hyssop in the middle. The red pot holds a wisteria grown from a seed my dad gave me last year. The green pot is merely holding dirt, awaiting the spilanthes that will soon be repotted in it, and the red plastic tray holds indigo seeds, one of which has sprouted.

And the plants in the black try and the white-and-green pot? Those are giant papyrus, leftover from the wedding. We bought four and cut off the tops for the centerpieces, and one disappeared to my mother-in-laws house, but I repotted one in this pot because it doesn’t have holes in the bottom and in the papyrus, a water plant, I have finally found the perfect plant to be housed by it. I love these plants, and they’re bouncing back from having their pretty mopheads cut off very well. It’s not at all winter-hardy, or I’d be planting it outside. As it is, I will have a tall, interesting houseplant that can’t possibly be overwatered. I love it.

