(In the style of Girl Gone Gardening, only with 100% fewer pictures.)

It’s humid. When I notice the humidity, watch out. It will not be a good gardening day. Which is too bad, because I’m hardening off the strawberries and the spilanthes (“hardening off,” ha–they probably like it better outside than inside at this point) and they should be planted soon. I think I have extra pots for the spilanthes (otherwise known as toothache plant), but the strawberries, I’ve decided, will go to what was to be their eventual home anyway, in the spot in the herb bed where I planted dill but nothing came up. (The dill that did appear is doing remarkably well.)

I have flowers in the garden to watch–tomato and zucchini and bush pickle cucumber, that is. Hooray! Why are all fruiting vegetable flowers yellow? Well, I guess the peas’ and peppers’ flowers are white. And there are scarlet runner beans, though beans don’t seem to count as fruiting even when their pods are edible–which I guess disqualifies the peas, too.

I pruned my first tomato suckers last night. Once I was up close and personal with the plants, I noticed their structure is fascinating. Some of the suckers were tiny, some were huge, some had long since grown out and acquired flowers. One Brandywine plant had a stem that looked like three stems fused together. The smaller tomatoes–the F2s and the Roma–are quickly catching up to the bigger ones. I read somewhere that suckers on determinate plants don’t need pruning, so I left the Celebrity alone. I really need to get some string (or rather, Velcro tape) out there to shore up the plants; I’ve got bamboo stakes, but the plants are only leaning on them and if they get bigger–and they will–they’ll need more support than that.

The peas are tantalizingly close to ready–they would be if we were going to be having a stirfry anytime soon, but for that we would need to get to the store for other vegetables. I’ve been watching one particular pod for optimal plumpness. I’m hoping that’s today, because Eric has never tried fresh garden peas–“I hate peas,” he says–and he needs to before he can say that. I don’t like peas in other conditions either, though they’re tolerable in Indian food, but I love peas picked and eaten immediately–and I think he will too.

I’m also thinking it’s time to harvest a bunch of lettuce and what paltry spinach I’ve got, if it hasn’t been ruined. As Genie discussed yesterday, it would probably be better to harvest a lot now to encourage growth, not to mention encouraging me to use it to get it out of the kitchen–plus with this heat, I’m half-expecting seed stalks on every one of those lettuce plants when I get home. (The spinach is already gone. So is my cilantro plant. Will there be any good leaves left by the time salsa-making season comes around? Maybe not, if I make cilantro-walnut pesto as I’ve been dreaming about.)

