It was a few days before the last frost date. But the weather was warm, the forecast looked good, and I had been threatened with rain until Sunday. Also, I thought Eric would feel less miserable about mowing the grass if he had company outdoors. So I planted.

I’ve been nurturing these plants for months (well, two months), but I’m glad to get them out of my house–or at least off my back steps, which is where they’ve mostly been the past few days, hardening off. There are still some on my windowsill, but a much more manageable number.So I carried my transplants out to the garden.To be plantedThe first thing to do was to divide them up and figure out how many of what I had left. I turned out to have the highest number of Taxis and F2 cherries. The Brandywines seem to be pretty delicate, and the F2s were stunted (but that’s another post). But I had enough to plant two of each in my tomato bed, accompanied by globe basil and marigolds, and two Toga eggplants in the raised bed, plus the two peppers I bought at the nursery. My homegrown one only has three true leaves and I’d like to see it with at least one more before I leave it out to the mercy of the elements and the insects.

I planted basil and thyme in the herb bed (and a little thyme between the amaranth and beans, because there was space and I didn’t want to disturb the size of the parsley plot). I dug in marigolds all around. I planted some marigold and nasturtium seeds a little while ago, but to be honest I may have pulled them, thinking they were weeds. Or perhaps they haven’t germinated yet. Let’s hope for the latter.

I also discovered that peat pots are useless, at least for me. One plant had grown its roots through the peat pot, and that was fine. Everyone else hadn’t (probably due to my not keeping them wet enough), so I stripped the pots off to prevent them becoming pot-bound or dehydrated. I was terribly excited to see the roots my plants had grown, though. I don’t know why–it’s not like I didn’t know they were there. But somehow that, even more than the greenery overhead, tells me that I’m really growing something.

  Roots!

 (Incidentally, the grass was yellow, because it had grown so long before he mowed it that the roots hadn’t had any sunlight. The lawn should look better soon.)

