The rabbit fence went up Friday. Perhaps foolishly, I didn’t buy the stuff that was actually called rabbit fencing. “It’s 28 inches high,” I said to Eric on the phone from Andersons. “I can’t step over that.” (I may have been exaggerating a little. But there was no way I was going to try to make a gate, so I wanted something easy to get over.) I went with the 24-inch green hex fencing next to it, figuring that once I had buried it a couple of inches in the ground all would be well. I took two fence poles as well, since one side of the garden is a chain link fence I could just wire the fencing to.

I also bought two tomato plants, a Celebrity and a Cherokee Purple, and planted them. The weather looks good through next weekend and I thought I’d take a chance. I may have also purchased an oregano plant and promptly placed it next to the rosemary in the herb plot (parsley plot). There were so many lovely vegetables there–all the standard herbs, plus some I’d never heard of; tiny six-packs of Early Girl tomatoes and bigger pots of Celebrity and Better Boy and heirloom tomatoes; a few gigantic tubs of Beefmaster tomatoes that came already staked; peppers of all sizes and spiciness; eggplants, Bright Lights Swiss chard, lettuce starts, rhubarb, strawberries, grapes, raspberries, blackberries…I’m lucky I came home with as little as I did.

Back home, I took my pliers, wire cutters, and hammer (you never know when you’ll need a hammer) out to the garden with my fencing and my poles. My first realization was that two poles was too few. But I wasn’t driving all the way back, so I resolved to simply stretch the fence taut. It didn’t need to keep out people, after all, just rabbits. The only way I could see to bury the fence (as the Internet suggests) was to dig a trench, place the fence and its attendant poles, and fill in the trench. So, with some struggle, I did that.

“It’s bent,” said nine-year-old Michelle, hopping over it with ease yesterday (and then balancing on the edge of my raised bed and telling me, “I hardly ever fall inward. Mostly outward,” while treading very close to my peas) when I went to deposit some miniature trees in my weed buckets.

“It only has to be tall enough to keep rabbits out,” I told her, electing not to describe how I pulled and tugged to get the fence upright and finally gave up and decided that a leaning-over fence would give the garden some, you know, charm.

