It froze last night, and it will the next few. I don’t know for sure what this means for my garden, but I’m expecting everything will die. “Everything” is lettuce, spinach, carrots, and peas, so I’m not too worried right now (except for the possibility that the budding Asian pear will be stopped from delivering a lovely crop of fruit such as I received last year); it won’t be too hard to replant them, though I’ll be sad that it’ll take longer to get a salad. I’d say I should start some spinach and lettuce inside, but I have no south-facing windows left; the tomatoes, eggplant, peppers, basil, oregano, thyme, broccoli, and strawberries have taken them over. Oh, and the sunflowers. You know those novelty plants where when you grow them, they have little messages on their leaves? I’m betting those are sunflowers. I wonder if I could make such messages myself. Maybe using a pin? Or does it take, say, a laser? Anyway, they’re taller than all my other plants and they’ve only been above ground a few days. I’m not sure I’ll be able to support these plants indoors for another month. Fortunately, I only planted seven (one as a replacement for the only one that didn’t come up with its brethren), so I can always replant those, too, if they threaten to take over my house before the outdoors is gentle enough for them to live there.

